I Come From

I come from six houses,

former dog-lovers, now cat people.

The colour yellow

teddy bears, CD Roms, Learning Land

Woolworths.

 

I come from Sunday Roasts that stink the house out,

‘carrots make you see in the dark’, hide and seek;

Father Christmas

Book shelves, fairy stories

Barbie Swan Lake video, Paddington Bear

 

I come from dens meshed by blankets

Babies soaked in crayon, plastic fruit,

The Lion King, a kiss goodnight

(and being tucked in.)

Unable to sleep with the light

on

 

I come from scribbles,

I come from felt tips, car boot sales

I come from ‘sorry’ to tables,

Lavender and wellington boots

The dressing up box, beef dinner,  Bratz, bees, bed time,

Bunk-beds.

 

 

Leave a Reply

